I accidentally deleted a file from my Desktop. Is it gone forever?
When you delete a file in Mac OS X, it moves the file to the Trash (trash basket icon on your Dock). If you haven't emptied your Trash, you can double-click on the Trash icon to view the contents of your Trash. When you find the file you deleted, you can drag it out of the Trash and onto your Desktop or to another location.
If you emptied your Trash, then unfortunately you won't be able to retrieve your file. We can check your backup on our backup server to see if we have your file when it was in its original location. We don't back up the Trash, but we do back up the Desktop and Documents folders and can go back a few days to see if we can find your file before it was moved to the Trash.