A student logged in to a student computer and saved files to the Desktop. The next day they were gone.
The student computer image is set up so that when a student logs out, the Desktop and Library folders are replaced with the default settings.
This data is not backed up, so unfortunately if files were on the student userspace Desktop and logged out the data is not recoverable.
We recommend that students save files to the file server. They can open MyServerFolder from the dock on a student computer to connect to their server space.