Technology KnowledgeBase

Google Chrome is displaying a message "Your profile can not be used because it is from a newer version of Google Chrome." How do I clear it?

For those of you who use Google Chrome often and have logged in with your apps.nsd.org account to create a Google profile, you may get a warning message that "your Google Chrome profile cannot be used because it is from a newer version of Google Chrome." Here's how to clear the message.
 
 
 
Click the OK button (you may need to clear the message by clicking OK several times). 
 
 
Click on Chrome in the menubar and select Preferences.
 
 
 
 
 
In the Settings area, click Disconnect Your Google Account... 
 
 
 
The next window will ask you if you also want to clear your history and such.  Check the checkbox to clear your cache and history at this point.  When you reconnect, that data will come back.
 
 
 
A request may be displayed asking that you verify that you want to delete "First user". If that message appears, click on the Delete button. 
 
 
 
You should then get a window asking you to sign back into Google.  Use your apps.nsd.org address and password.  You should now be signed into Chrome.
 
To re-establish your bookmarks and other settings, go to the Chrome Menu and click on Preferences.  In Settings, click on Advanced Sync Settings.  A pop-up will appear allowing you to choose what items to sync.  Select your choices (or leave them all checked) and then click OK.
 
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
MENU